Home      Calendar      About       Donate       Register       Pay Bill       E-News       Contact       Search

Welcome from the Youth Wind Symphony Director

Welcome to the Youth Wind Symphony page of The Hochstein School! I hope that you will take a moment to read about the band program and other offerings from Hochstein. 

The Youth Wind Symphony (YWS) is the flagship ensemble of the band program. It is open to advanced woodwind, percussion, and brass players in grades 9-12 and performs level V and VI wind ensemble repertoire. The ensemble meets on Saturdays from 12:00-2:00 pm beginning on January 5, 2019 and concluding with an evening concert on February 9, 2019 in the Performance Hall.

Please feel free to stop by a rehearsal or contact me if you have any questions about the Youth Wind Symphony or Hochstein programs in general.

John Rolland, Director of Bands

Please feel free to contact me at: John.Rolland@Hochstein.org

Click here for online bio.

Youth Wind Symphony

John Rolland, Director
Grades 9-12, NYSSMA Level 5-6 
6 weeks only: January 5 - February 9, 2019
Saturdays, 12:00-2:00 pm

Participation in this senior high school wind ensemble allows students to broaden their wind band experience. Open to woodwind, brass, and percussion students in grades 9-12. Please call (585) 454-4596 to request an application. Applications are due by Saturday, October 21, 2018. The five-week session ends with a final concert on Saturday, February 9 at 7:30 pm. 

FEE: $85*, refundable if student is not placed. (Fees are as of Fall 2018.)

Learn more about our Tuition Assistance by clicking here.


Click here for the 2019 Youth Wind Symphony application.